BOLD Additions To The Community Foundation Board

Learn More About Our Five New Board Members

January 6, 2021
New leaders joining the Community Foundation of Broward's Board of Directors in 2021 include: Jane F. Bolin, Alberto Fernandez, Nancy A. Meyer, Mona Pittenger, and David Scully

New insights. Unique talents. More opportunities to create a BOLD impact.

The Community Foundation of Broward’s five new Board members each add a valuable perspective to the dynamic leadership team that guides our grantmaking and helps build our endowment – all to shape a brighter future for Broward.

Here’s a closer look at the new leaders joining our 2021 Board of Directors:

Jane F. Bolin

Jane serves as Mayor of Oakland Park. She is the founder and managing partner of PeytonBolin, a real estate law firm, and Giannell Title, an attorney operated title company. She currently serves as a charter officer and the chair of the Governance Committee for the Entrepreneurs' Organization (EO).  Jane is heavily involved with nonprofits and community groups and previously served as a board member for the Children’s Diagnostic and Treatment Center, the Girl Choir South Florida, EO of South Florida, EO of Tampa Bay, Asian Pacific American Bar Association of South Florida, Khushi Hona, Florida Rugby Union, World Aids Museum, and the Pride Center of South Florida.

Alberto Fernandez

Al is president of ANF Group in Davie, a leading provider of preconstruction, construction management, general contracting and design-build services. As a founder of the company, Al has been at the forefront of producing the quality of work that makes ANF Group, Inc. a South Florida building industry leader. He is a member of the Construction Association of South Florida, Latin Builders Association, Hispanic Unity of Florida and serves an alternate on the Board of Rules and Appeals for Broward County. Al also serves as a Board Member for the Joe DiMaggio Children’s Hospital Foundation.

Nancy Meyer

Nancy is President of the Miami Herald and el Nuevo Herald. She is former Publisher and General Manager of the Sun Sentinel Media Group and the Orlando Sentinel. Under Nancy’s leadership, the Sun Sentinel won the 2019 Pulitzer Prize for Public Service for impactful coverage of the mass shooting at Marjory Stoneman Douglas High School in Parkland. Nancy serves on The Alliance of Greater Fort Lauderdale Board of Directors, Broward Business Council on Homelessness, Broward Workshop and the Nova Southeastern University Ambassador’s Board. She is a cancer survivor and has worked extensively with Susan G. Komen – New England.

Mona Pittenger

Mona is an LGBT activist and philanthropist, based in Fort Lauderdale.  In 2011, she retired as owner of a real estate company specializing in the management and sale of government foreclosures. She is a founding Board Member of Our Fund, an LGBT foundation in Fort Lauderdale. Originally from Oklahoma, Mona co-founded the Tulsa Girls Art School, a nonprofit serving underprivileged girls. She is a member of the Board of Trustees for Phillips Theological Seminary in Tulsa. Mona has served on the national boards of Lambda Legal, Victory Fund and the national board of Freedom for All Americans.

David M. Scully

David is a partner in the Loving Scully Law Group in Fort Lauderdale. He specializes in estates, tax law and corporate law. David is a member of the Community Foundation’s Professional Advisor Council. He has served on the Steering Committee of the Annual Joint Tax and Estate Planning Seminar, the Board of Trustees at Saint Mark’s Episcopal School and helped lead the Islamorada Fishing and Conservation Trust. David was born in St. Thomas, U.S. Virgin Islands, and lived in Miami as a child before moving to Fort Lauderdale.

The five new Board members join these the dedicated community leaders on 2021 Board:

James Donnelly, chair; Juliet Murphy Roulhac, vice chair; Thomas R. Oliveri, secretary; Kurt D. Zimmerman, treasurer; Peggy Hogan Marker, at-large; Alice Lucia Jackson, at-large; J. David Armstrong Jr.; Doria M. Camaraza; James B. Davis; Edward T. Hashek; Marcell Haywood; David W. Horvitz; Susanne Cornfeld Hurowitz; Paige Hyatt; Anne K. Joyner; Dara Levan; and Dev Motwani.

“These are distinguished and accomplished professionals who bring a diverse wealth of experience and perspective to our Board,” said Community Foundation President/CEO Jennifer O’Flannery Anderson, Ph.D. “They find serving the community foundation to be a powerful way to give back to the community they love and call home.”
Learn More

To contact the Community Foundation of Broward, email or call 954-761-9503.

Foundation in the News

More News




Saving Scarlett
August 31, 2018
Thank you! Your submission has been received!
Oops! Something went wrong while submitting the form. Please try again.