Community Foundation Board Elects James Donnelly Chairman

Foundation Announces New Officers, Welcomes Four New Board Members

January 15, 2020
James Donnelly, the new chairman of the Community Foundation of Broward’s Board of Directors, speaks at the 2019 Community Builder Celebration at the Fort Lauderdale Antique Car Museum.

The Community Foundation of Broward’s Board of Directors has elected businessman James Donnelly as chairman and FPL executive Juliet Murphy Roulhac as vice chairwoman.

Donnelly is founder and CEO of the Castle Group, a Plantation-based property management group specializing in residential communities. Donnelly is immediate past chairman of the Broward Workshop. He is a South Florida Business Journal “Ultimate CEO” honoree and he won the South Florida Sun Sentinel’s Excalibur Award for Business Leader of the Year for Broward.

Juliet Murphy Roulhac

Roulhac is FPL’s Regional Manager for Corporate External Affairs.  She is an attorney with over 25 years of complex business litigation and appellate experience.

The Community Foundation Board elected Kurt Zimmerman as Secretary.  He is a Fort Lauderdale estate planning attorney with 30 years in private practice.  

Cynthia Borders-Byrd has been elected Foundation Board Treasurer.  She is managing member of C. Borders-Byrd, CPA LLC, with over 32 years of experience providing external audit services.

Paige Hyatt and Thomas Oliveri have been elected At-Large members of the Foundation’s Executive Committee.  Hyatt is a community leader in Broward County.  Oliveri is Senior Market Executive, Broward County, for Northern Trust Company.

Four new Foundation Board members include:

  • Marcell D. Haywood – A Miami-based entrepreneur and business executive.  He is CEO of Thesis Holdings and founder and CEO of Encompass Onsite Solutions.
  • David W. Horvitz – Board Chairman and Chief Executive Officer of SouthOcean Capital Partners, with offices in Fort Lauderdale.
  • Susanne Cornfeld Hurowitz – President of HB Capital Group, a privately-held real estate investment and management company headquartered in Sunny Isles Beach, Fla.
  • Dara Levan – Communication specialist, writer and editor who publishes the weekly blog, Every Soul Has a Story.  She previously worked as a speech-language pathologist and has edited several published books.
The Community Foundation's four new Board members: Marcell D. Haywood, David W. Horvitz, Susanne Cornfeld Hurowitz and Dara Levan.
Learn More About the Community Foundation Board

Click here to learn more about the distinguished executives and community leaders on the Community Foundation’s Board of Directors.

Foundation in the News

More News




Saving Scarlett
August 31, 2018
Thank you! Your submission has been received!
Oops! Something went wrong while submitting the form. Please try again.